Verify the Following Settings are Properly in Place on your Mac at Work (the one you are connecting to)

SMPH Shared Services has pushed settings out to your work computer use the following to verify they are set.

Just like with Windows, you first have to set up your work Mac for screen sharing. Press on the Apple Menu, and then press "System Preferences". 


Open the “Sharing” preference panel.



Uncheck all boxes except for Remote Management.  Press the Remote Management box to check it (if it is not already).  It may ask you to give access controls, if it does, check all the boxes in that pop-up window and hit OK.


Select options and Check all options

Connecting From Mac

WiscVPN - Installing and Connecting the GlobalProtect Client (Mac)  - https://kb.wisc.edu/73116

Open spotlight and type in "Screen Sharing.app" and select it

Enter the computer name or IP of your work computer

Enter Username and password
*note account needs to be on the remote computer

When you connect to the target Mac, you will also need to log into your user account for that computer.


Connecting from PC

Install RealVNC from http://www.realvnc.com/download/viewer/

WiscVPN - Installing and Connecting the GlobalProtect Client (Windows)  - https://kb.wisc.edu/91915

Once installed Open Real VNC

enter computer name or IP

After entering in the address of the work computer, hit Enter.


You will get a security warning, check the box to not warn about the connection again, and click Continue.



An authentication box will appear where you will need to enter the username and password for your Mac.
*note account needs to be on the remote computer

When you connect to the target Mac, you will also need to log into your user account for that computer.

Once logged in, your Mac desktop will now appear in the VNC Viewer window in the same state as you left it.

If you mouse to the top-middle of the window, you can spawn extra controls, which when you hover will give you a tooltip explaining what each one does.

This little toolbar will let you take actions such as close the connection, go to full-screen, and more. Hover over each button to learn what it does.

You’ll find handy shortcuts to close and save the connection, as well as to change options, and a full-screen button so your shared desktop fills the screen.

On the work Mac side of things, a Screen Sharing icon will appear in the menu bar. This lets you quickly and easily access the Screen Sharing preferences or disconnect clients.


  • No labels